View Full List of National Register: Wyoming Listings

Fort D. A. Russell National Historic Landmark (F. E. Warren Air Force Base)


Read All About It:

Fort David A. Russell, Fort Francis E. Warren and Francis E. Warren Air Force Base. The three separate phases of the history of this place are reflected in these three different names. Fort D. A. Russell was established in 1867 as a frontier infantry and cavalry post serving as a supply depot and to protect transcontinental railroad construction crews. The Fort, with its strategic location and railroad connection, was declared to be a permanent post by the War Department in 1885 and an extensive building program began. Fort Russell was enlarged to a brigade-sized post in 1906. In 1930 the post was renamed to Fort Francis E. Warren after a Cheyenne resident who served as United States Senator for 37 years. With the beginning of World War II, Fort Warren became a Quartermaster Training Center with twenty thousand men in training here. In 1947 Fort Warren was assigned to the Air Force and became Francis E. Warren Air Force Base. None of the original Fort D. A. Russell structures are extant, but most of the 1885 and later red brick barracks, officer's quarters, offices, and cavalry stables survive.

Photos on file at the Wyoming State Historic Preservation Office



Date Added to Register:
Wednesday, October 01, 1969
Laramie County
Smithsonian Number: